Posts Categorized: Honours & Awards 2015

Two ChemE Alumnae on List of Top 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada

Southwood_RobinsonCongratulations to ChemE alumnae Jeanette Southwood (8T6) and Siobhan Robinson (0T9) who have been named two of Canada’s Most Powerful Women of 2015 by the Women’s Executive Network. Jeanette is the Vice-President for Strategy and Partnerships for Engineers Canada, and is a member of our Department’s Board of Advisors. Siobhan is a Project Engineer with Kerr Wood Leidal Associates and a dedicated volunteer. Learn more about the Most Powerful Women of 2015.

ChemE Alumnus Howard Goodfellow Honoured for Outstanding Career

ChemE Alumnus and Adjunct Professor Howard Goodfellow (ChemE 6T4, MASc 6T5, PhD 6T8), was honoured for his 30 years of outstanding contributions in the area of industrial ventilation at a recent international conference in Shanghai, China.  His work has been recognized with numerous awards, including induction into the U of T Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering’s Hall of Distinction in 2010.  He is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and recipient of The Engineering Medal, Entrepreneurship Category, from the Professional Engineers of Ontario. Read more about Dr. Goodfellow’s accomplishments.

Alumni Win WXN Top 100 Awards

Jeanette Southwood (8T6, MASc 8T8) and Siobhan Robinson (0T9) have won Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Awards presented by the Women’s Executive Network (WXN). Launched in 2003, the Top 100 Awards celebrate the incredible accomplishments of Canada’s top female executives, as well as their organizations and networks.

Southwood is an award-winning engineer and Vice-President, Strategy and Partnerships at Engineers Canada. Before joining Engineers Canada in November 2015, she managed the Urban Development & Infrastructure and Global Sustainable Cities teams at Golder Associates, a firm of more than 8,000 employees around the world.

Robinson is a Project Engineer at Kerr Wood Leidal Associates. She has been involved in projects ranging from wastewater treatment to asset management. Robinson is passionate about empowering youth to pursue careers in engineering and is focused on providing young engineers opportunities to grow their careers.

Southwood and Robinson join a prestigious community of past Award Winners, including Canada’s most iconic women trailblazers: Margaret Atwood, best-selling author; Dr. Roberta Bondar, astronaut; Arlene Dickinson, chief executive officer, Venture Communications; Christine Magee, president, Sleep Country Canada; Michaëlle Jean, former Governor General of Canada; Heather Reisman, founder and chief executive officer, Indigo Books & Music; and, Kathleen Taylor, chair of the board, Royal Bank of Canada.

The full list of WXN’s 2015 Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award Winners can be found at

Greg Evans Elected a Fellow of the AAAS

U of T Engineering professor Greg Evans has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society. The honour recognizes his distinguished contributions to air pollution research and his leadership in engineering education.

Evans joined the University of Toronto in 1990, and began his world-leading research on the causes and effects of poor air quality, especially airborne particles in large cities. His work includes the development of new analytical instruments as well as advanced modelling methods. In 2003 he founded the Southern Ontario Centre for Atmospheric Aerosol Research (SOCAAR) and in 2008 expanded the project to create the Canadian Aerosol Research Network (CARN). These networks, as well as Evans own lab group, have produced a number of key publications regarding the creation of aerosol pollution and its impact on human health.

Read more.

Molly Shoichet Wins 2015 Fleming Medal & Citation

The Royal Canadian Institute for Science recently announced that Molly Shoichet (ChemE, IBBME) of the University of Toronto is the 2015 Winner of the Fleming Medal & Citation for outstanding contributions to the public understanding of science. This is awarded yearly to a Canadian citizen.

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Vice Partron of the Royal Canadian Institute, will present the Medal to Shoichet on November 16 at 7pm during a public ceremony at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education Auditorium (located at 252 Bloor St W).

A professor of biomedical engineering at the University of Toronto, Shoichet is internationally renowned for her work on hydrogels – versatile materials that can act help rebuild damaged tissues in the body. Since September 2014, as the senior advisor to the President of the University of Toronto on science and engineering engagement, Shoichet has also focused on building public awareness about what scientists do all day. As part of the ceremony on November 16, Shoichet will share how she is using an innovative media campaign to engage Canadians in science.

To learn more about Shoichet’s achievements that led to this honour, click here.


ChemE Alum Wins in Don Valley North

gengtanPolitical newcomer Geng Tan (MASc 0T0, PhD 0T5) took Don Valley North for the Liberals on Monday, October 19, 2015. Tan, who was born in China and has made Canada home for nearly two decades, holds a PhD in chemical engineering from the University of Toronto and is active with community groups that help new Canadians. He says persistent gridlock and other transportation woes are the riding’s biggest issues.

Read more.

Three ChemE Alumni Recognized with 2015 Arbor Awards

Congratulations to ChemE alumni Marisa Sterling (ChemE 9T1), Angela Tran Kingyens (EngSci 0T5, ChemE MASC 0T7, PhD 1T2) and Stanis Yu (ChemE 0T0), recipients of 2015 Arbor Awards for their exceptional dedication and contributions to the experience of our students, faculty, staff and alumni.

From coaching the Iron Dragons dragon boat club to serving on committees and promoting entrepreneurship and more, their enthusiasm has helped make U of T Engineering the vibrant community it is.  We are truly grateful for their ongoing commitment!

Read more.

Greg Evans Wins OCUFA Teaching Award

The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) has recognized Professor Greg Evans (ChemE) as one of Ontario’s most outstanding university teachers. He will receive a 2014-2015 OCUFA Teaching Award at a ceremony in Toronto on October 24.

In addition to exemplary classroom teaching, Evans is a leader in the development of innovative educational initiatives and opportunities for undergraduate engineering students. He has developed new courses that go well beyond the delivery of technical content, including implementing unique collaborative assignments that encourage ‘success skills’ such as teamwork, professionalism, communication and leadership.

Read more.

2015 EAA Award Winners

Two ChemE alumni are being recognized with 2015 Engineering Alumni Association (EAA) Awards. Frank Dottori (6T3) is this year’s Engineering Alumni Medal winner and William Breukelman (5T5) is now a Hall of Distinction member.

Read more.

Levente Diosady Named Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada

Professor Levente Diosady (6T6, PhD 7T2) has been elected fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) on the basis of his exceptional contributions to Canadian intellectual life.

The Society’s mission is to recognize scholarly, research and artistic excellence, to advise governments and organizations, and to promote a culture of knowledge and innovation in Canada. Fellowship in the RSC is one of the highest honours that Canadian researchers can achieve.

Diosady is among 13 new fellows elected from the University of Toronto. Across Canada, 87 new fellows were named in 2015. Click here to learn more about his Diosady’s contributions.

Read more.

© 2022 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering