Appointment of Co-Chair, Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee

Dear faculty, staff, and students,

I am very pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Timothy Bender as the Co-Chair of the Department’s Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee for a 3-year term, from July 1, 2024, to June 30, 2027.

Tim joined the Department in 2006 and was promoted to the rank of Full Professor in 2016. He holds cross-appointments in the Departments of Chemistry, Materials Science & Engineering, and Mechanical & Industrial Engineering. Previously, Tim served the Department as the Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies and is currently the Director of the Institute for Sustainable Energy (ISE). Prior to joining U of T, he was a member of research staff at the Xerox Research Centre of Canda (XRCC) for six years, working on advanced imaging materials design and synthesis at an industrial scale. Tim’s areas of research include polymers, semiconductors, photonics, and solar and wind energy. He has more than 128 publications and 74 patents, issued and pending.

Please join me in congratulating Tim on his new appointment!

I also wish to take this opportunity to express my gratitude to Professor Bradley Saville for his outstanding service to the Department as both Chair and Co-Chair of our Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee over the past 30 years. In particular, Brad’s leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic was instrumental in maintaining the continuity of our operations while creating a safe environment for ChemE students, staff, and faculty.

Thank you, Brad!


Ramin Farnood

Professor & Chair, Department of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry