ChemE Prof Receives CIM Fellowship

The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) Fellowship recognizes members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions to the mining, metallurgical or petroleum industries.

ChemE Professor Vladimiros Papangelakis became a CIM Fellow this year. Born in Athens, Greece, Papangelakis obtained a Diploma in Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens in 1983. In 1986 and 1991 he completed Master’s and PhD (Honours) degrees in Hydrometallurgy at McGill University. In 1991, he joined the Department of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry at U of T initially as an Assistant Professor and he advanced to the rank of Professor in 2002. From 2002 to 2003 he was named the John Patrick Sheridan Chair in Chemical Minerals Processing. His teaching interests are in the area of thermodynamics and aqueous process chemistry whereas his research interests are in sustainable hydrometallurgical process development. He is a registered Professional Engineer in Ontario.

He has worked on the mathematical modelling of the pressure oxidation process for refractory gold materials; laterite pressure leach chemistry; scale abatement in reactors; development of acid and redox sensors for high temperature processes; hydrometallurgical treatment of wastes; and REE extraction. Papangelakis is the author of over 130 research papers in technical journals and conference proceedings, has one Patent, and has supervised over 50 graduate students and post-doctoral fellows.

He is a member of the Hydrometallurgy Section of MetSoc since 1996 and a member of the Board of Directors of MetSoc from 2004 to 2006 and the Executive since 2010. He has served as MetSoc President from 2012 to 2013. He has participated in numerous organizing committees for MetSoc and Hydrometallurgy Section conferences, as well as short courses offered in Canada and abroad. He is also a Director of Chemical Engineering Research Consultants Ltd. (CERCL). He is the recipient of the Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award the Diran Basmadjian Teacher of the Year Award.

© 2022 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering