New CAE inductions

Eleven members of the U of T Engineering community have been inducted as fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE). Professors Nazir Kherani (ECE, MSE), Deepa Kundur (ECE), Milica Radisic (IBBME, ChemE), Murray Thomson (MIE) and Honghi Tran (ChemE), along with adjunct professor Sankar das Gupta (MSE) and alumni William Breukelman (ChemE 5T5), Elizabeth Croft (PhD MechE 9T5), Samantha Espley (CivE 8T8), John Gruzleski (PhD MMS 6T8) and George Kipouros (MASc MMS 7T7, PhD 8T2), are among the CAE’s 43 new fellows. The CAE comprises the country’s most accomplished engineers, who have demonstrated their dedication to the application of science and engineering principles in the interests of Canada. The new CAE Fellows were inducted on June 27 in Winnipeg, as part of the Academy’s Annual Meeting.

“The induction of these outstanding Engineering alumni and faculty members to the Academy is a testament to the respect in which they are held by their peers and the impact of their accomplishments as engineering innovators, researchers, educators and industry leaders,” said Dean Cristina Amon. “On behalf of the Faculty, I congratulate the inductees on this prestigious and richly deserved recognition.”

Read full story.

© 2022 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering