Three ChemE alumni receive top honours at the 2022 EAN Awards

EAN Awards 2022 ChemE group pic
L-R: Ramin Farnood, Audrey Mascarenhas, Daryl Wilson, Chris Yip, and Joseph Paradi

On November 3, the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering celebrated this year’s Engineering Alumni Network (EAN) Award winners. Professor Emeritus Joseph Paradi received the Engineering Alumni Medal, EAN’s highest honour. Audrey Mascarenhas and Daryl Wilson were both inducted into the Hall of Distinction.

Joseph ParadiJoseph C. Paradi, ChemE 6T5, MASc 6T6, PhD 7T5

­Professor Paradi was born in Hungary and immigrated to Canada in 1957 as a teenager. He went on to earn three University of Toronto degrees in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry and became one of the pioneers of today’s interconnected computer world. In 1969 he founded a computer services company, Dataline Systems Ltd. The firm was involved in what was then called Time Sharing. He sold the company in October 1989 and subsequently joined the University of Toronto as an Associate Professor. He was promoted to full Professor in Industrial Engineering shortly thereafter and currently serves as Professor Emeritus in Chemical and Industrial Engineering. A dedicated entrepreneur, Professor Paradi has founded several Canadian companies. At the Centre for Management of Technology & Entrepreneurship (CMTE), which he also founded, Professor Paradi established a highly influential program for engineering students that prepares them with the real-world skills required to be an entrepreneur and practicing engineer.

Audrey MascarenhasAudrey Mascarenhas, ChemE 8T2

Audrey is President and CEO of Questor Technology Inc. (Questor) a public, international company focused on clean air and energy efficiency technology. Audrey has worked in energy and environment for over 40 years with Gulf Canada Resources Ltd., presently Conoco-Phillips and Questor. Through her leadership, she has focused on technology solutions to save lives and the planet. Audrey served as a distinguished lecturer with the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) in 2010 and 2011. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Toronto and holds a Master’s Degree in Petroleum Engineering from the University of Calgary. She is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineers and sits on the Board of the TMX.

Daryl WilsonDaryl Wilson, ChemE 8T2

Daryl has had a 40-year career focused on sustainability and innovation. At DOFASCO, TOYOTA, ZENON Environmental, RGTL, Hydrogenics and the Hydrogen Council, Daryl led with innovative, first-of-a-kind change initiatives. Some examples include a Silver Award in Public Sustainability reporting at DOFASCO, a 100% water recycling program at TOYOTA, a 300% scale-up in operations for innovative water treatment technology at ZENON, and the world’s largest new electrolysis project and the world’s first hydrogen-powered public train service with Hydrogenics. In 2020 Daryl became Executive Director of the Hydrogen Council, a worldwide coalition of 150 CEOs of the leading companies in Hydrogen. Daryl serves on the Board of Directors of STELCO Inc and ESS Inc.

Click here to view the complete list of the 2022 EAN Award winners. View photos from the celebration on November 3.