ChemE Awards 2021-22

The 5th ChemE Exhibition & 36th Dinner on May 27, 2022 brought together close to 300 alumni, industry partners, faculty, staff, and students to celebrate the achievements of the past year.

Congratulations to all of our 2021-22 ChemE Award recipients!

Leaders of Tomorrow Awards

Professor James W. Smith LOT Award

Cassidy Tan (ChemE 2T4)

Class of 8T2 Emerging Leaders Award in Chemical Engineering

Ian Kunka (ChemE 2T4)

Class of 5T9 LOT Award

Selena Chen (ChemE 2T3 + PEY Co-op)

Troost Family LOT Award

Jinmyung Jang (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

ERCO Worldwide LOT Award

Brohath Amrithraj (ChemE 2T1 +1)

Graduate Awards


Bert Wasmund Grad Fellowship In Sustainable Energy Research in the Dept. of Chemical Engineering

Chengqian  Wu (ChemE PhD Student)

Colin Hahnemann Bayley Fellowship in the Dept. of Chemical Engineering

Mickael Dang (ChemE PhD Student)

Diran Basmadjian Graduate Scholarship

Folake Oyewole (ChemE PhD Student)

Edward Jarvis Tyrrell Fellowship

Paul Chen (ChemE PhD Student)

Adam Tetreault (ChemE PhD Student)

Professor Honghi Tran Practical Research Award in Sustainable Energy and Chemical Processing

Hamed Ghazisaidi (ChemE PhD Student)

Professor Doug Reeve Engineering Leaders of Tomorrow Graduate Award

Patrick Diep (ChemE PhD Student)

Nina-Francesca Farac (ChemE PhD Student)

Mitchell Zak (ChemE PhD Student)

Rein Otson Memorial Graduate Scholarship

Chester Pham (ChemE PhD Student)

Kan Wu (ChemE PhD Student)

Eco-Tec Founder’s Fellowship

Ka Ho Chan (ChemE PhD Student)

Omar Wani (ChemE PhD Student)

Frank Howard Guest Bursary

Yuhang Huang (ChemE PhD Student)


McLean Foundation Graduate Scholarship in Science & Technology

Kiki Chan (ChemE PhD Student)

Hamed Ghazisaidi (ChemE PhD Student)

William J. Dowkes Graduate Bursary

Touraj Ghaznavi (ChemE PhD Student)

Helen L. Cross (nee Colquhoun) Memorial Graduate Scholarship

Azadeh Vatandoust (ChemE PhD Student)

Michael Tawadrous (ChemE PhD Student)

H. Rapson Memorial Award

Seyedeh Maryam Sadegh Mousavi (ChemE PhD Student)

Teaching Awards


Bill Burgess Teacher of the Year Award for Large Classes

Yuri Lawryshyn

Diran Basmadjian Teacher of the Year Award for Small Classe

Daniela Galatro

Plant Design Winners


1st Place – UnoDose Consulting

Raneem Basheer (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Zach Frangos (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Michelle Hung (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Connor Larkin (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Emily Pelosi (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

2nd Place – Enervative Mining Solutions

Evanna Dadd (ChemE 2T2)

Protiti Das  (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Ryan Kriegbaum (ChemE 2T2)

Walker Stewart (ChemE 2T2)

3rd Place – Alate Consulting

Loay Al Rashidi (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Tanmoya Paul (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Amrita Tayahur Jagadesh (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Antony Ozguler (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Ella Wang (ChemE 2T1 + PEY Co-op)

Poster Competition Winners



1st Place: Mara Jezernik (ChemE MASc Student)

2nd Place: Owen Mototsune (ChemE MASc Student)


1st Place: Taylor Edwards (ChemE MASc Student)

2nd Place: Saif Rjaibi (ChemE MASc Student)


1st Place: Jocelyn Riet (ChemE PhD Student)

2nd Place: Rohit Pal (ChemE PhD Student)


1st Place: Aysan Razzaghi (ChemE PhD Student)

2nd Place: Suryavarshini Sundar (ChemE PhD Student)