Five ChemE faculty members receive Innovation at Interfaces funding for sustainable research projects

Five ChemE faculty members were announced as inaugural winners of Innovation at Interfaces (I@I) funding awarded by the University of Toronto’s Low-Carbon Renewable Materials Centre (LCRMC).

Overall, eight teams comprised of 14 innovative researchers were selected to receive the seed funding co-funded by the LCRMC and their respective department. This amounts to a total award value of $30,000 for up to two years to support the work of a graduate or postdoctoral researcher.

ChemE winners included:

  • Professor Edgar Acosta (ChemE)
  • Professor Gisele Azimi (ChemE, MSE)
  • Professor Charles Jia (ChemE)
  • Professor Emma Master (ChemE)
  • Professor Ning Yan (ChemE)

Projects funded by I@I will focus on sustainable materials, processing, practices and data analysis, with the goal to further the U of T research community through cross-departmental collaborations.

Read the full story