U of T Engineering team earns Brockhouse Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering

Brockhouse team
Left to right: Professors Miriam Diamond (Earth Sciences, ChemE), Greg Evans (ChemE, ISTEP), Marianne Hatzopoulou (CivMin) and Senior Research Associate Dr. Cheol-Heon Jeong (ChemE) are some of the members of the multidisciplinary team that has earned NSERC’s 2021 Brockhouse Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering. (Photo: Daria Perevezentsev)

A multidisciplinary team that includes several U of T Engineering professors has been awarded the 2021 Brockhouse Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

The award recognizes outstanding Canadian teams of researchers from different disciplines. In this case, the team combined their knowledge and skills to better understand and address the critical public health issue of air pollution.

“It is very gratifying to see how research ideas that were seeded almost two decades ago have grown into such a supportive and energising collaborative community,” says Professor Greg Evans (ChemE, ISTEP), one of the recipients of the award.

“The research we have done together has led to real benefits. There’s a lot to be proud of.”

In addition to Evans, the award recipients include Professors Arthur Chan (ChemE), Marianne Hatzopoulou (CivMin) and Jim Wallace (MIE) as well as Senior Research Associate Dr. Cheol-Heon Jeong (ChemE).

They also include U of T Professors Miriam Diamond (Earth Sciences, School of the Environment, ChemE), Chung-Wai Chow (Temerty Medicine, UHN), Jeff Brook (Dalla Lana School of Public Health, ChemE) and Scott Weichenthal (Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Occupational Health, McGill) as well as Dr. Robert Healy, Senior Scientist at the Ontario Ministry of the Environment Conservation and Parks. Click here for the full U of T Engineering News story.